Jake Kuredjian Citizenship Award

At its Regular meeting on February 25, 2002, the City Council, acting on a recommendation from the Parks and Recreation Commission, created the Jake Kuredjian Citizenship Award in honor of Los Angeles County Sheriff's Deputy Hagop "Jake" Kuredjian. Deputy Kuredjian was killed in the line of duty on August 31, 2001, while he and other law enforcement personnel were engaged in a shootout with a suspect in Stevenson Ranch. Deputy Kuredjian often worked as an Armenian interpreter for the Sheriff's Department, the Los Angeles Police Department, and the FBI. The Gold Meritorious Conduct Medal was presented to Kuredjian in 1989, for rescuing a woman from a cliff while stationed in Malibu.

Los Angeles County Sheriff Deputy Hagop Jake Kuredjian

The Jake Kuredjian Citizenship Award is presented annually to recognize those outstanding individuals who give their time and resources to enhance the quality of recreation programs within the Malibu community. Past recipients of this award have demonstrated a commitment and involvement in addressing some aspect of recreation in Malibu, and in doing so demonstrated the highest level of citizenship, making a lasting contribution to the community.

2020 Recognition

On September 14, 2020, the City Council approved the Parks and Recreation Commission's recommendation to recognize John Bell and Ellen Reich for the 2020 Jake Kuredjian Citizenship Award. 

John Bell

Mr. Bell was a longtime Malibu resident before his passing in April 2020 and served as the first president of the Malibu High School Athletic Booster Club. He organized the first Christmas Tree Lot to benefit athletic programs at Malibu High School and served in various capacities with the Malibu Boardriders and Malibu Kiwanis Club. 

Ellen Reich

Mrs. Reich was the City’s second Poet Laureate, and held the position for one year, before passing away in May 2020. Her teachings and commitment to Malibu made a lasting impression on the community. She taught Creative Writing and Poetry for Emeritus College at the Malibu Senior Center for many years before becoming Poet Laureate. She was the recipient of multiple poetry awards, a published author, and a recognized visual artist.

Past Award Recipients
2002 Doug O’Brien, Joel Castro, Jill & Harold Smith, Maud Ann Sunderland, and Ron Bloomfield
2004 Jack “Papa Jack” Schultz
2005 Tim Biglow, Danny Klein, and Nick Tidy
2007 Bruce Young, Mike Doyle, James Whalen, and Steve Rodriguez
2008 John Paola
2012 Dermot Stoker
2013 Michael Zweig
2014 Steve Ciniglio
2015 Joan House
2017 Bob Stallings
2018 Mike Mulligan and Justine Petretti
2019 Kasey Earnest and Steve Hotchkiss
2020 John Bell and Ellen Reich