City Council

City Council Group Portrait 2017

From left: Councilmember Skylar Peak, Mayor Rick Mullen, Councilmember Laura Rosenthal, Councilmember Lou La Monte, Mayor Pro Tem Jefferson "Zuma Jay" Wagner. Click to download a high resolution image.


  • 6:30 PM
  • Second and fourth Mondays of every month
  • City Hall - Council Chambers
    23825 Stuart Ranch Road
    Malibu, CA 90265



Jefferson Wagner (

Term: April 2008 - April 2012; Re-elected November 2016 - November 2020

Mayor Pro Tem

Karen Farrer (

Term: November 2018 - November 2022


Rick Mullen (

Term: November 2016 - November 2020

Skylar Peak (

Term: April 2012 - November 2016; Re-elected November 2016 - November 2020

Mikke Pierson (

Term: November 2018-November 2022

* At the Regular City Council meeting on May 11, 2015, the Council adopted Ordinance No. 389, moving the date of the City's General Municipal Elections from the second Tuesday in April of each even-numbered year to the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November of each even-numbered year. In accordance with Elections Code Section 1301, terms of sitting Councilmembers were extended from April to November of the year the term was previously scheduled to expire.

Individual Councilmember bios can be viewed in the Staff Directory.

About the City Council

The City of Malibu is a general law city and operates under the council-manager form of government. The five-member City Council is elected at-large to serve four-year terms. The Mayor's Office is rotated annually among all councilmembers.

The City Council is the legislative authority and sets the policies under which the City operates. Duties of the City Council include:

  • Enacting legislation such as local laws and ordinances
  • Approving City programs
  • Adopting the City's budget
  • Appropriating the funds necessary to provide service to the City's residents, businesses, and visitors

The City Council provides leadership through policy development regarding the current practices and future direction of the City. The City Council appoints the City Manager, City Attorney, and City Treasurer / Auditor, as well as members of the City's commissions, committees, and boards.

 Statements of Economic Interest

The City Councilmembers are elected officers identified in Government Code Section 87200 and file statements of economic interests with the City Clerk's Office. Copies of the statements of economic interests filed by the above elected officers may be obtained by visiting the offices of the Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC) or contacting the City Clerk.


428 J Street
Suite 620
Sacramento, CA 95814 

City Clerk's Office

City of Malibu
23825 Stuart Ranch Road
Malibu, CA 90265

The statements of economic interests for some state and local government agency elected officers may be available in electronic format on the FPPC website.