Go To Search
Click to Home

Harry Barovsky Memorial Youth Commission

2014 Harry Barovsky Memorial Youth Commission

The Harry Barovsky Memorial Youth Commission consists of student appointees who are in grades 7-12 and either reside or attend school in Malibu. The Commission may make recommendations to the City Council on matters concerning the City's programs and projects that serve young people. The Youth Commission has the authority and responsibility to plan, organize, and implement, with the assistance of appropriate members of the City staff and within budget limits, events, programs, and activities for the young people of the community, and to hold fundraising events to further the work of the Commission. All money raised will be restricted so that it is used exclusively to support the work of the Commission, its events, programs, and activities.

  • 7:00 PM
  • Third Monday of every month, September through June (Commission does not meet in July and August)

2017-2018 Harry Barovsky Memorial Youth Commission

The City of Malibu’s Harry Barovsky Memorial Youth Commission will accept applications from students in grades 7-12 (2017-2018 academic school year) February 1, 2017 through March 31, 2017 at 4:00 P.M. Completed packets may be submitted to the Clerk’s Office at Malibu City Hall (23825 Stuart Ranch Rd). Each applicant will also be required to attend an in-person interview or submit a film by via DropBox.  
Application Packet

Agendas & Minutes
Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes
Meeting agendas and minutes for City boards commissions, and committees are available in the Agenda Center.

The members of the Youth Commission for the 2016-2017 school year were appointed by the City Council at-large on May 23, 2016. All appointments end in June 2017 with the close of the school year.

Collette Aldrich Rachel DeAngelis Abby Droeger
Miela Efraim Brayden Ekman Jaden Fisher
Quinn Graham Katherine Hall Ryan Janov
Grace Kinyon Russell Kish William Kish
Lauren Maischoss Luca Moore Sorin Moore
Jennifer Orian Morgan Perlmuter Tripp Principe
Maximilian Roth Andrew Springer Travis Springer
Lola Stanley Zita Surprenant Dunya Taylan
Crystal Graham         

Individuals may serve on only one commission, board, or committee at any given time, in accordance with Council Policy No. 48 – Opportunity to Serve (adopted February 25, 2013).

No compensation is paid for participation on any of the City's boards, commissions, or committees.

Active City Councilmembers may not be appointed as a member of any City board, commission, or committee. Councilmembers do serve on City Council Subcommittees and Ad Hoc Committees.

Commission Assignments

At the beginning of each fiscal year, the City Council directs the City’s commissions to focus attention on specific work assignments. Those assignments may be modified or new assignments added throughout the year by the City Council. Commission agendas are prepared based on the current year's assignments, so each commission can discuss the issues and report back to the Council with recommendations, as appropriate. 

Current Fiscal Year Assignments

Staff Contact
Katie Gallo,  Recreation Supervisor, 310-456-2489, ext. 363,

To sign up for e-notifications about the Harry Barovsky Memorial Youth Commission, visit

City of Malibu